instagram pinterest linkedin facebook twitter goodreads

The Pen/O.Henry Prize Stories

Prize Jury: Junot Diaz, Paula Fox, and Yiyun Li.

Annie Proulx, “Them Old Cowboy Songs,” The New Yorker
Kirstin Allio, “Clothed, Female Figure,” Iowa Review
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, “The Headstrong Historian,” The New Yorker
Wendell Berry, “Stand By Me,” Atlantic Monthly
Jess Row, “Sheep May Safely Graze,” Threepenny Review
Preeta Samarasan, “Birch Memorial,” A Public Space
Brad Watson, “Visitation,” The New Yorker
William Trevor, “The Woman of the House,” The New Yorker
Daniel Alarcón, “The Bridge,” Granta
Daniyal Mueenuddin, “A Spoiled Man," The New Yorker
James Lasdun, “Oh, Death,” Paris Review
Natalie Bakopoulos, “Fresco, Byzantine,” Tin House
Peter Cameron, “The End of My Life in New York,” Subtropics
Ted Sanders, “Obit,” Indiana Review
Damon Galgut, “The Lover,” Paris Review
George Bradley, “An East Egg Update,” Yale Review
Ron Rash, “Into the Gorge,” Southern Review
John Edgar Wideman, “Microstories,” Harper’s Magazine
Alice Munro, “Some Women,” The New Yorker
Lore Segal, “Making Good," The American Scholar

The PEN/O.Henry Prize Stories 2009,
Laura Furman, Series Editor

2009 PEN/O.Henry Prize Stories
Prize Jury: A.S. Byatt, Anthony Doerr, and Tim O'Brien

PEN/O.Henry Award-Winning Authors:
Karen Brown
John Burnside
Junot Díaz
Viet Dinh
Andrew Sean Greer
Caitlin Horrocks
Ha Jin
Graham Joyce
Kirsten Sundberg Lunstrum
L. E. Miller
Alistair Morgan
Manuel Muñoz
Roger Nash
Mohan Sikka
Marisa Silver
E. V. Slate
Judy Troy
Paul Yoon
PEN/O. Henry Recommended Story Authors:
Mary Carroll-Hackett
Halina Duraj
Mary Beth Keane
Owen King
Rae Paris